Missouri Teen Driving Restrictions

Injury and Accident Attorneys Serving St. Louis, Nearby Missouri, Fairview Heights, and Nearby Illinois

Share:

Missouri teen driving restrictions include a Graduated Driver’s License law that requires first-time teen drivers to obtain a permit and intermediate license before getting a full driver’s license.
Missouri teen driving restrictions include a Graduated
Driver’s License law that requires first-time teen drivers to
obtain a permit and intermediate license before getting a
full driver’s license.

Car accidents are the leading cause of death for teenagers between the ages of 15 and 19 years old, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. While distracted driving and use of cellphones plays a role in causing many of these car accident fatalities, so too does teen drivers’ inexperience and a general lack of defensive driving skills. In an effort make the roadways safer for all drivers, the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles has enacted a Graduated Driver’s License law that stipulates that:

  • First-time drivers who are younger than 18 years old must have an instruction permit and then an intermediate license before they can be granted a full driver’s license.
  • In order to obtain the instruction permit, the new driver must pass a written test, as well as a vision test.
  • During the instruction permit phase of the graduated driver’s license process, the new driver must be accompanied by a qualified adult, who can be the new driver’s parent, guardian, a qualified driving instructor and/or another qualified person (who is at least 25 years old and has had a valid, full driver’s license for at least 3 years).
  • New drivers must be at least 16 years old before they can apply to obtain an intermediate driver’s license. For intermediate license holders:
    • Drivers are allowed to drive by themselves except for during the hours of 1 am to 5 am (i.e., curfew hours).
    • Drivers and their passengers must wear their seat belts at all times and must abide by all traffic laws.
  • When an intermediate license holder turns 18 (or within 30 days of the license holder’s 18th birthday), he or she can apply for a full driver’s license.

St. Louis Car Accident Lawyers

If you have suffered any injuries or losses after an auto accident and believe that another person’s negligence may have to been blame, contact the St. Louis car accident injury lawyers at Brown & Brown Attorneys at Law. We have a long-standing commitment to serving our clients, and we are experienced at aggressively defending our clients’ rights in any legal setting. Our goal is to preserve and promote the rights and welfare of individuals and families who have suffered injuries and losses and/or who need help navigating through the complexities of the court system.

Since 1993, our lawyers have been successfully representing our clients in various areas of personal injury litigation, including car accident lawsuits. Our unwavering dedication to the pursuit of justice in every case we handle means that we will work relentlessly to help our clients achieve the best possible outcomes to their cases. One of our primary goals is to help accident victims secure the maximum possible compensation for their injuries and losses so they can focus on their recovery and moving on with their lives. For a free initial consult, email us using the form at the right-hand side of the screen and/or to call us at 573-333-3333 for our Missouri office or at 618-888-8888 for our Illinois office.

Category: