Illinois Teen Driving Laws and Restrictions

Injury and Accident Attorneys Serving St. Louis, Nearby Missouri, Fairview Heights, and Nearby Illinois

Share:

Illinois teen driving laws include a graduated driver’s license program that requires teen drivers to get a learner’s permit and a restricted license before they can obtain a full driver’s license.
Illinois teen driving laws include a graduated driver’s license
program that requires teen drivers to get a learner’s permit
and a restricted license before they can obtain a full driver’s
license.

In Illinois, as in many states, first-time teenage drivers have to complete a graduated driver’s license program in order to obtain a full driver’s license. The intention behind this requirement is to help provide new teen drivers with enough education and experience that will allow them to safely operate a motor vehicle on the road. The graduated driver’s license program in Illinois includes the following requirements:

  • First-time drivers must obtain a learner’s permit, and they must be at least 15 years old to do so.
    • These drivers must have their learner’s permit for at least nine months before they can graduate to the next stage of licensing. During this nine-month period, the driver has to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving (10 hours of which must include supervised driving at night).
    • Also during the learner’s permit phase, drivers must complete a driver’s education program.
    • In order to apply for an initial restricted license, drivers must maintain a clean driving record for at least nine months. If teen drivers with an learner’s permit (or an initial restricted license) do violate the law, their parents must attend the traffic hearings, and the teen driver must attend traffic school (in addition to paying any necessary fines).
  • Upon completion of this program, they can obtain an initial restricted license (known as the intermediate stage of licensing). This stage will last until the driver is 18 years old.
    • During this stage, drivers can have no more than one teenage passenger in their vehicle at any given time (excluding family members).
    • Drivers must have a clean driving record (i.e., no citations or violations of the law) for at least six months in order to apply for a full driver’s license.
  • Finally, they can obtain a full, unrestricted Illinois driver’s license.

St. Louis Car Accident Lawyers

If you have suffered any injuries or losses after a car accident and believe that another person’s negligence may have to been blame, contact the St. Louis car accident injury lawyers at Brown & Brown Attorneys at Law. We have a long-standing commitment to serving our clients, and we are experienced at aggressively defending our clients’ rights in any legal setting. Our goal is to preserve and promote the rights and welfare of individuals and families who have suffered injuries and losses and/or who need help navigating through the complexities of the court system.

Since 1993, our lawyers have been successfully representing our clients in various areas of personal injury litigation, including car accident lawsuits. Our unwavering dedication to the pursuit of justice in every case we handle means that we will work relentlessly to help our clients achieve the best possible outcomes to their cases. One of our primary goals is to help accident victims secure the maximum possible compensation for their injuries and losses so they can focus on their recovery and moving on with their lives. For a free initial consult, email us using the form at the right-hand side of the screen and/or to call us at 573-333-3333 for our Missouri office or at 618-888-8888 for our Illinois office.

Category: